Share |

Wednesday, June 7, 2000 -- Pittsburgh, PA
2000 ACA Summer Criterium Series
Story by Jack Neyer (sorry, no photos available)

[Details] [Coverage] [Overall Results]

For more information on cycling in Southwest PA, check with the Allegheny Cycling Association.

June 7, 2000 marked the start of the annual points competition for the Allegheny Cycling Association Summer Criterium Series at the Pittsburgh Bike Oval on Washington Boulevard. Warm, sunny weather prevailed and brought out a total of 94 racers for the evening's three races.

The 22-lap (11 mile) Class C race came down to a field sprint with Kevin Kramer of Slippery Rock University winning top honors, followed by Todd Copeland of Pizza Outlet in second and Pete Weir of D/F in third. Rocco Mazzei managed the Most Agressive Rider honors, with Kevin Kramer winning the Pizza Outlet-sponsored prime.

The 37-rider B field also remained together for the entire 35-laps (17.5 miles). Josh Schaffer, racing for Molnar Hauling, edged out Bob Riffle of East Suburban Sports Medicine for the win followed closely by Eric Jones of the Ambridge Bike Shop in third. Rounding out the top eight in the field sprint were: Steve Kundman from Team Brooklyn, Henry Dimmick of Fox Velo, John Graham of the Pittsburgh Cycling Club, Pat Steele of Tri Power and John Munhall of East Suburban Sports Medicine.

In the 55-lap A race, a three-man break got an early-race lead on an abnormally small 27-rider field. The break initially consisted of Brian Wieczorek of Team Freddie Fu, Rob Acciavatti of GoMart and Matt Brungard racing for Mahoning Valley Velo. After Wieczorek fell off the pace, he was replaced by teammate George Yoder who made a strong bridge up to the remaining two leaders. Yoder's strongman effort proved fruitful as he edged out Brungard in the final sprint followed by Acciavatti in third 49 seconds ahead of the field. In the main pack, Gunnar Shogren of Team Guinness and Andrew Mor of the Pittsburgh Masters Velo Club jumped to a quarter lap lead on the pack with two laps to go. Mor, in his first A race after winning the previous two B races, held off a charging Jeff Timinski of Team Schwinn while Shogren held off the closing pack for sixth. Mark Nichol of the Pittsburgh Cycling Club took seventh and Wieczorek recovered for eighth.