Share |

Sunday, January 6, 2013 -- Charleston, WV / CAMC Memorial
Winter Series 8K Run . 4K Walk (iPO Event Id#: 14184)

Race 2: [Details] [Coverage] [Photos] [Overall Results] [Results by Class]

[Race 1] [Overall Series Results]

The Glove Run

Story by Tracey Todd with photos by Daniel Todd.

2013 Winter Series Photo
Winter Series fan!
Over 400 enthusiastic participants turned out for the second of three 2013 Charleston Winter Series races.

The 8k competition boasted an impressive 47 walking finishers in addition to the 366 runners.

The Sunday afternoon's weather was a lot more cooperative than it had been for the first 2013 installment, when participants faced a very wet and soggy 5k, but it was still chilly enough to live up to the Winter Series name.

David McCollam continued his series lead as the male overall winner with a time of 24:52.

Stephen Ragg finished on McCollam's heels at 24:55. McCollam, Jason Pyles, and Nick Bias are the male overall series leaders separated by 4:30 minutes.

Marian Pyles followed up her winning female performance of the first race of the series with an 8k time of 29:29, putting her first once again for the females.

Allison Cox took second place for the females with a time of 30:14. Pyles, Cox, and Bridget Conolly lead the women in the series and are separated by under four minutes.

2013 Winter Series Photo
Chilly, but fun running.
The 3rd and final event in the series is a 10K on February, 2013 at 2:00 pm. The 5K walk starts an hour earlier at 1:00 pm. Additional information on the event can be found right here on iPlayOutside. Both events start at 31st Street and Virginia Avenue, and registration is at Charleston Area Medical Center - Memorial Hospital in the WVU Building.

2013 Sponsors

  • Roberts Running & Walking Shop

  • Merrill Lynch Wealth Management
    (visit: Charleston Branch webpage)

  • West Virginia University, Charleston Division

  • City of Charleston Parks and Recreation
    (visit: webpage)

  • Tallman Track Club


    Past Winter Series Coverage

    2007-08: [Race 1] [Race 2] [Race 3] 2008-09: [Race 2] [Race 3]

    2009-10: [Race 1] [Race 2] [Race 3] 2010-11: [Race 1] [Race 2] [Race 3]

    2011-12: [Race 1] [Race 2] [Race 3]